Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

How to Develop a Winning Mindset

Duncan Riach
6 min readDec 19, 2021

--

I support many people in becoming more successful in life. While I’ve taught many practical skills (such as organization), I have also come to realize that perhaps the most impactful factor is mindset. In this article, I will cover several aspects of mindset and how to develop them.

Gratitude

My ability to notice and appreciate things that I can feel grateful for has grown throughout my life. Even though it was a relatively weak skill in my early twenties, it was there, and I can see now that it contributed significantly to my early success.

When we can feel grateful for the resources we have and for the support we get, we signal their value to ourselves and this motivates us to fully utilize them. We also then signal externally that we’re welcoming that goodness, which motivates others to give us more.

Developing gratitude is very simple. We can start now, and we can continually get better at it. Simply find something that you can appreciate and then send gratitude to it internally; this is a visceral feeling that you can develop. It can also be powerful to express that gratitude externally, in a phone call, text, email, or letter. Expressing externally can help to amplify the internal, visceral feeling, which makes it easier to recognize and cultivate.

--

--

Duncan Riach

Top Writer. Self-Revealing. Mental Health. Success. Fulfillment. Flow. MS Engineering/Technology. PhD Psychology. duncanriach.com